Skip to Content

News You Need to Know


Date ArticleType
9/30/2019 General
1si ACE Awards Finalists Announced Along with Changes in Logo and Location

1si is proud to announce finalists for the fifth annual "ACE" Awards, scheduled for Thursday, November 14th. The ACE Awards (Appreciating and Celebrating Excellence), sister to the ONE Awards, is a prestigious program acknowledging the achievements of individuals in the Southern Indiana region. This year’s event will feature a new logo as well as a new location, Horseshoe Southern Indiana. Attendees to the event will enjoy networking opportunities, a buffet-style lunch and an awards program. More than 250 guests are expected to attend, and the event is open to members and non-members.

The ACE Awards finalists listed below were chosen by an independent panel of judges and were selected based on criteria that include, but is not limited to, career history, community involvement, response to adversity, charitable contributions (time and treasure) and innovation.

The public will again have the opportunity to vote for their favorite candidate in late October, with the total online vote counting as ten percent of the final score. Watch your inbox for the announcement of when voting will open.
Winners will be announced at the event on and tickets are on sale, with individual reservations for 1si members costing $45 each and tables of eight available for $340. Guests who are not yet 1si members may purchase tickets for $65 each. Registration for the event is open and can be found online at or by calling (812) 945-0266.

The 2019 1si ACE Award finalists are:

Axiom Financial Strategies Group of Wells Fargo Advisors, LLC, James W. Robinson Young Professional of the Year ACE Award
• Jamie Ogles Slye, Volunteers of America Mid-States
• Rachel Smallwood, The Orange Clover LLC
• Josh Staten, The City of New Albany

Kightlinger & Gray, LLP, Sam Day Professional of the Year ACE Award

• Lisa Huber, Duke Energy
• Scott Olinger, Harding, Shymanski, & Company, P.S.C.
• Martin Padgett, Clark Memorial Health

Duke Energy Kevin Hammersmith Community Leader ACE Award
• Bill Burns, RE/MAX FIRST
• Dana Huber, Huber's Orchard, Winery & Vineyards
• Theresa Reno-Weber, Metro United Way